Website map

Website map

Musée des Arts Asiatiques

©SHU LEA CHEANG, UKI Virus, 2018
©SHU LEA CHEANG, UKI Virus, 2018

SHU LEA CHEANG

2021

Virus Becoming

 

PROPOSAL BY OVNI, coproduced with the Museum of Asian Art and curated by Florent To Lay, with Banyi Huang. Until Sunday, 16 May 2021.

 

Major figure in contemporary art and pioneer in digital art, Shu Lea Cheang (born in 1954 and based in Paris) showcases a new installation that is a prelude to UKI, her sci-fi viral alt-reality cinema in development for over ten years. 
 

In UKI, Cheang imagines a cyber-bio-punk world where humanoids are made redundant and discarded by biotech industries as e-trash, but eventually re-emerge as a virus to reclaim their pleasure, autonomy, and agency.

 

Through sci-fi narratives elaborated for over 40 years, Shu Lea Cheang’s body of work aims to re-envision genders, genres, and structures operating in our contemporary world. She recently represented Taiwan with 3×3×6, a mixed media installation curated by Paul B. Preciado and housed at Palazzo delle Prigioni at the 2019 Venice Biennale.

 

WITH THE SUPPORT of the French Ministry of Culture, the Taiwanese Ministry of Culture, the Taiwan Cultural Center in Paris, the American Center for Arts and Culture in Paris, the Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains, the Centre National du Cinéma DICRéAM/CNC, the Region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, the Department of Alpes-Maritimes, the City of Nice and the Windsor Hotel in Nice.

 

WITH THE SPONSORSHIP of BenQ for projection solutions for museography and Xiaomi for TV solutions.

Plan de site

Plan de site

Musée des Arts Asiatiques

©SHU LEA CHEANG, UKI Virus, 2018
©SHU LEA CHEANG, UKI Virus, 2018

SHU LEA CHEANG

2021

Virus Becoming

 

UNE PROPOSITION OVNi co-produite avec le Musée des Arts Asiatiques sous le commissariat de Florent To Lay, avec Banyi Huang. Jusqu’au dimanche 16 mai 2021.

 

Figure majeure de l’art contemporain et pionnière de l’art numérique, Shu Lea Cheang (née en 1954 et basée à Paris), présente une installation inédite qui se lit comme les prémices de son long-métrage entre science-fiction et réalité alternative virale UKI, en développement depuis une dizaine d’années.

 

Cheang y imagine un monde qui mélange le cyberpunk aux biotechnologies et où des humanoïdes sont jetés au rebut par des entreprises de biotechnologies pour finalement réapparaître comme virus et ainsi retrouver leur plaisir, leur autonomie et leur capacité à agir sur eux-mêmes et ce qui les entoure.

 

À travers des récits de science-fiction élaborés depuis plus de 40 ans, Shu Lea Cheang s’attache à déconstruire et réimaginer les catégorisations, les genres et les structures à l’œuvre dans notre monde contemporain. Elle a été récemment choisie pour représenter Taïwan à la Biennale de Venise de 2019 avec l’installation 3x3x6 (2019) au Palazzo delle Prigioni sous le commissariat de Paul B. Preciado.

 

AVEC LE SOUTIEN du Ministère de la Culture, du Ministère de la Culture taïwanais, du Centre Culturel de Taïwan à Paris, de l’American Center for Arts and Culture à Paris, du Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains à Tourcoing, du Centre National du Cinéma et DICRéAM/CNC, de la Région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, du Département des Alpes-Maritimes, de la Ville de Nice et de l’Hôtel Windsor à Nice.

 

AVEC LE MÉCÉNAT de la marque BenQ pour les solutions de projection pour la muséographie et celui de la marque Xiaomi pour les solutions télévisuelles.