Website map

Website map

Le monde est tout ce qu'il est

© Hicham Berrada, Présages, 2020 ; Taipei Fine Art Museum
© Hicham Berrada, Présages, 2020 ; Taipei Fine Art Museum

La grande halle [109]

2022

89 route de Turin, 06300 NICE

Opening on Friday 18 November from 6pm (open to all)

 

The OVNi – edition 2022 statement is an imaginary of the possibilities of follies as places and ideas. The proposal « The World is All That Is », which is deployed in the Grande Halle of 109-Pôle de cultures contemporaines, is a collective layout that is part of a critical relationship between humans being and the Earth and the biological.

Far from an inventory, the artistic projects presented share some conceptual experiments of our environment and its ability to absorb disorder. Artworks formalized thinking nature or the devouring of this one and refer to organic or inorganic, floral, mineral, aquatic or aerial vulnerabilities. Works also relate the hypotheses of a balance between the environments, the resources and the presence of the living beings.

Philosophers and scientists agree on this Zone of Uncertainty that we have just penetrated. They say the disruptions resulting from the interactions of the technosphere on the biosphere. They talk about the metasystems born from the New Technologies and their hybrid forms. But when they tell us that « 90 % of the vegetal biodiversity has been able to operate the greatest conquest of the terrestrial space » they also tell us about the resilience of the living.

© Sky Hopinka, Mnemonics of Shape and Reason, 2021
© Sky Hopinka, Mnemonics of Shape and Reason, 2021

Sky Hopinka

Mnemonics of Shape and Reason

HD video, stereo, color, 04:13, 2021

OVNi

Hopinka’s video Mnemonics of Shape and Reason (2021) traverses the memory of a place and space visited by the artist. Employing an original syntax of storytelling, the artist interweaves scattered and reassembled landscapes with layers of captured audio, poetic text, and music. A rhythmic account of the spiritual implications of colonial plunder, Hopinka’s fluid reflections transmute ideas of spiritual malleability tied to land, sky, sea, myth, place, and personhood.

© Claudia Hart - The Ruins - 2020
© Claudia Hart - The Ruins - 2020

Claudia Hart

The Ruins

2020 - 10'' - color

OVNi

The Ruins is an audiovisual animation in which a viewer is trapped in a maze, tracking through a claustrophobic game world in which the music, composed by Edmund Campion with vocals and lyrics by Hart, inform one another. The Ruins is a memento mori, creating a space of contemplation reflecting on the canons of a patriarchal western civilization: a world filled with still-life paintings and scored with lyrics that are manifestos of failed political utopias.   

 

For this work, Hart has produced very low polygon models – poor copies or “images,” to borrow a term popularized by Hito Steryl. The models imitate copyright-protected paintings by Matisse and Picasso, canonical painters whose careers mark the onset of Modernism. As the setting for these models, Hart has built a low-polygon game-style labrinth, covering its walls with animations that also infringe on copyright protections – for it is copyright that also marks the beginning of Modernism, responding to the emerging technology of that era (photography).  Hart tracks through this historical labyrinth from which there seems to be no escape.

 

Equally important to The Ruins is its music, by Edmund Campion. Campion is a celebrated composer and the director of CNMAT, the Center for New Music and Audio Technology, at the University of California, Berkeley. Campion created music and custom software programming specifically for The Ruins, including an algorithmic sound engine. For the work, Hart read four texts expressing the ideologies of four failed Utopias: Thomas Jefferson on American liberty, the Bauhaus Manifesto by Walter Gropius, Fordlandia – Henry Ford’s failed suburban rubber plantation in the Amazon rainforest – and Jim Jones sermon, the “Open Door.” Campion has processed and mixed each of Hart’s vocal performances, using them as instruments in a piece that is both an independent audio installation but also serves as the soundtrack to the animation.

Plan de site

Plan de site

Le monde est tout ce qu'il est

© Hicham Berrada, Présages, 2020 ; Taipei Fine Art Museum
© Hicham Berrada, Présages, 2020 ; Taipei Fine Art Museum

La grande halle [109]

2022

89 route de Turin, 06300 NICE

Vernissage ouvert à tous vendredi 18 novembre à partir de 18h

 

L’énoncé d’OVNi – édition 2022 est un imaginaire des possibles des folies comme lieux et comme idées. La proposition « Le Monde est tout ce qui est », qui occupe la grande Halle du 109-Pôle de cultures contemporaines, est un agencement collectif qui s’inscrit dans un rapport critique de l’humain à la Terre et au biologique.

Loin d’un inventaire, les projets artistiques présentés partagent une certaine expérimentation conceptuelle de notre environnement et de sa disposition à assimiler les désordres. Ils formalisent une pensée de la nature ou la dévoration de celle-ci. Ils évoquent les vulnérabilités organiques ou inorganiques, florales, minérales, aquatiques ou aériennes. Ils traduisent également les hypothèses d’un équilibre entre les milieux, les ressources et la présence des vivants.

Philosophes et scientifiques s’accordent sur cette Zone d’Incertitude que nous venons de pénétrer. Ils disent les perturbations issues des interactions de la technosphère sur la biosphère. Ils content les métasystèmes nés des Nouvelles Technologies et leurs formes hybrides. Mais lorsqu’ils racontent que « 90 % de la biodiversité végétale a pu opérer la plus grande conquête de l’espace terrestre » ils disent aussi du vivant sa capacité de résilience.

© Sky Hopinka, Mnemonics of Shape and Reason, 2021
© Sky Hopinka, Mnemonics of Shape and Reason, 2021

Sky Hopinka

Mnemonics of Shape and Reason

HD vidéo, stéreo, couleur, 04:13, 2021

OVNi

La vidéo Mnemonics of Shape and Reason (2021) de Hopinka traverse la mémoire d’un lieu et d’un espace visités par l’artiste. Employant une syntaxe originale de narration, l’artiste entrelace des paysages épars et réassemblés avec des couches de sons capturés, de textes poétiques et de musique. Récit rythmé des implications spirituelles du pillage colonial, les réflexions fluides de Hopinka transmutent les idées de malléabilité spirituelle liées à la terre, au ciel, à la mer, au mythe, au lieu et à la personne.

 

© Claudia Hart - The Ruins - 2020
© Claudia Hart - The Ruins - 2020

Claudia Hart

The Ruins

2020 - 10 min - couleur

OVNi

The Ruins est une animation audiovisuelle dans laquelle le spectateur est pris au piège dans un labyrinthe, traversant un univers de jeu claustrophobique dans lequel la musique, composée par Edmund Campion avec des voix et des paroles de Hart, se complètent. The Ruins est un memento mori, qui crée un espace de contemplation réfléchissant aux canons d’une civilisation occidentale patriarcale : un monde rempli de peintures de natures mortes et dont les paroles sont des manifestes d’utopies politiques ratées.   

Pour cette œuvre, Hart a produit des modèles à très faible polygone – des copies pauvres ou des « images », pour emprunter un terme popularisé par Hito Steryl. Les modèles imitent des peintures protégées par des droits d’auteur de Matisse et Picasso, peintres canoniques dont les carrières marquent le début du modernisme. Comme décor pour ces modèles, Hart a construit un labyrinthe de style jeu à faible polygone, couvrant ses murs d’animations qui enfreignent également les protections du droit d’auteur – car c’est le droit d’auteur qui marque également le début du modernisme, répondant à la technologie émergente de cette époque (la photographie).  Hart parcourt ce labyrinthe historique dont il semble impossible de s’échapper.

La musique de The Ruins, composée par Edmund Campion, est tout aussi importante. Campion est un compositeur célèbre et le directeur du CNMAT, le Center for New Music and Audio Technology, à l’université de Californie à Berkeley. Campion a créé une musique et une programmation logicielle personnalisée spécialement pour The Ruins, notamment un moteur sonore algorithmique. Pour cette œuvre, Hart a lu quatre textes exprimant les idéologies de quatre utopies ratées : Thomas Jefferson sur la liberté américaine, le manifeste du Bauhaus de Walter Gropius, Fordlandia – la plantation de caoutchouc suburbaine ratée d’Henry Ford dans la forêt amazonienne – et le sermon de Jim Jones, la « Porte ouverte ». Campion a traité et mixé chacune des performances vocales de Hart, les utilisant comme des instruments dans une pièce qui est à la fois une installation audio indépendante et la bande sonore de l’animation.