Website map

Website map

MAMAC

© ORLOW - The Fairest Heritage (MAMAC 2022)
© ORLOW - The Fairest Heritage (MAMAC 2022)

MAMAC

2022

Place Yves Klein, 06000 Nice

The MAMAC presents a multidisciplinary exhibition on the ecological, anthropological and geopolitical issues surrounding flowers through the artist’s lens, from the early 1960s to the present day. Flowers have been used throughout the history of art, even in recent times, as motifs, symbols of nature, language, beauty and eroticism, as political emblems, and even as medicine and food. Several exhibitions have explored these dimensions at different periods.

 

With scientific advances on plant intelligence and new approaches to the Savage Mind (Lévi-Strauss), attempts to interrelate with nature have become increasingly frequent. As a symbol of fragility and rebirth, the flower deals with ecological and anthropological issues in interesting ways, giving rise to a global and post-colonial botanical history, as well as new forms of sensibility and thought.

 

Today, ecological imperatives are driving contemporary artists and their practice. This is reflected in current exhibitions both in subject matter (the planetary garden, nature, plants) and in art production itself (recycling, limiting transport, remuneration of artists, etc.). These issues are at the heart of MAMAC’s concerns since 2016. This opus devoted to “Flowers”, within the framework of the biennale, is the sequel to the exhibition “Cosmogonies. Au gré des éléments” (MAMAC, summer 2018), an ode to impermanence and the emergence of forms “assisted” by nature from Yves Klein through to Thu Van Tran.

Plan de site

Plan de site

MAMAC

© ORLOW - The Fairest Heritage (MAMAC 2022)
© ORLOW - The Fairest Heritage (MAMAC 2022)

MAMAC

2022

Place Yves Klein, 06000 Nice

Le MAMAC propose une exposition pluridisciplinaire autour des enjeux écologiques, anthropologiques, géopolitiques des fleurs à travers le regard d’artistes, depuis l’aube des années 1960, jusqu’à nos jours. Les fleurs traversent l’histoire de l’art, y compris récente, à la fois comme motif, symbole de la nature, du langage, de la beauté et de l’érotisme ou encore comme emblème politique, comme source médicinale et comestible.

 

Avec les avancées scientifiques sur l’intelligence du végétal et une approche nouvelle de la pensée sauvage (Lévi-Strauss), le désir de multiplier les tentatives d’interrelation avec la nature s’enrichit. Symbole de fragilité et de renaissance, la fleur devient un marqueur particulièrement puissant pour éclairer les enjeux écologiques et anthropologiques actuels. Elle fait éclore une botanique de l’histoire mondiale et postcoloniale, ainsi que de nouvelles formes de sensibilités et de pensées.

 

Aujourd’hui, les impératifs écologiques favorisent une réflexion artistique verte qui se déploie dans les expositions tant par leurs thématiques (le jardin planétaire, la nature, le végétal) que dans les modalités éco-responsables de leur réalisation (recyclage, limitation des transports, etc). Ces enjeux sont au cœur des préoccupations du MAMAC depuis 2016. Cet opus dévolu aux « Fleurs », dans le cadre de la Biennale, s’inscrira par ailleurs dans le sillage de l’exposition « Cosmogonies. Au gré des éléments » (MAMAC, été 2018) qui dessinait une ode à l’impermanence et à l’émergence de formes « assistées » par la nature de Yves Klein à Thu Van Tran.