Website map

Website map

Musée des Arts Asiatiques

©MAI LING, La belle étrangère, 2019
©MAI LING, La belle étrangère, 2019

Mai Ling

Dialogues

 

PROPOSAL BY OVNI, coproduced with the Museum of Asian Art and curated by Florent To Lay, with Banyi Huang. Until Sunday, 25 April 2021.

 

Founded 2019, the Vienna-based association and artist collective Mai Ling offers a platform to share and exchange experiences of racism, sexism, homophobia, and prejudices toward one’s difference, especially against Asian womxn bodies.
 

The objectification of “exotic” Asian female bodies, the perception and treatment of gendered and racialized bodies in Western society, and the historical-ethnographic background of the “European gaze” cast upon what is considered as “Far East culture” ─ these are the themes explored by Mai Ling.

 

This first solo exhibition of the collective showcases the sheer diversity of its artistic and activist projects while generating dialogues with the museum’s space and rich collection, as well as incorporating voices from French context.

 

WITH THE SUPPORT of the French Ministry of Culture, the Austrian Federal Ministry of Arts, Culture, Civil Service and Sports (BMKÖS), the Austrian Federal Ministry of European and International Affairs (BMeiA), the Austrian Cultural Forum in Paris, the Region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, the Department of Alpes-Maritimes, the Department of Cultural Affairs of the City of Vienna (Stadt Wien Kultur: MA 7), the organization Kültüř Gemma in Vienna, the City of Nice and the Windsor Hotel in Nice.

 

WITH THE SPONSORSHIP of the Xiaomi brand for sound and audiovisual solutions.

Plan de site

Plan de site

Musée des Arts Asiatiques

©MAI LING, La belle étrangère, 2019
©MAI LING, La belle étrangère, 2019

Mai Ling

Dialogues

 

UNE PROPOSITION OVNi co-produite avec le Musée des Arts Asiatiques sous le commissariat de Florent To Lay, avec Banyi Huang. Jusqu'au dimanche 25 avril 2021.

 

Créé à Vienne en 2019, l’association et collectif artistique Mai Ling se présente comme une plateforme de partages et d'échanges destinée à des personnes qui ont vécu ou qui souhaitent lutter contre le racisme, le sexisme, l’homophobie et tous les préjugés liés à la différence, en particulier ceux qui visent les femmes asiatiques.

 

L’image des femmes asiatiques réduites à des objets exotiques, la perception et le traitement des corps genrés et racisés dans les sociétés occidentales, ou encore, la toile de fond historique et ethnographique du “regard européen” vis-à-vis de la culture dite “extrême orientale”, tels sont les thèmes explorés par Mai Ling.

 

Pour sa première exposition monographique, le collectif viennois donne à voir la diversité de ses pratiques artistiques et activistes tout en nouant un dialogue étroit avec les espaces du musée et sa riche collection, par l’intégration de voix propres au contexte français.

 

AVEC LE SOUTIEN du Ministère de la culture, du Ministère fédéral autrichien des Arts, de la Culture, de la Fonction publique et des Sports (BMKÖS), du Ministère fédéral autrichien des Affaires européennes et internationales (BMeiA), du Forum Culturel Autrichien à Paris, de la Région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, du Département des Alpes-Maritimes, du département des affaires culturelles de la Ville de Vienne (Stadt Wien Kultur MA 7), de l’organisation Kültüř Gemma à Vienne, de la Ville de Nice et de l’Hôtel Windsor à Nice.

 

AVEC LE PARRAINAGE de la marque Xiaomi pour les solutions sons et audiovisuelles.