Website map

Website map

Pia Maria Martin

©Pia Maria Martin - 2020
©Pia Maria Martin - 2020

Pia Maria Martin

« My aim is to set something in motion and let it run its course. Though I often profit by placing a situation into the most suitable light. I try to avoid losing touch with reality. My personal style is simply the result of what I am doing. Using the medium film as a tool to instill life into the subjects, illustrates the state of mind and ist movements. I understand the possibilities of this medium as the substance of the matter itself.

It is as if humanity has set up the situation then retreated to let it play out according to ist own devices letting the inevitable happen, a bit like the fairies dancing in the garden. This can happen in several directions, sometimes according to human desires, revitalizing the decay of nature, revitalizing the dead, or transmitting fear. In a sense, they are like one-scene plays that live out their unstoppable process, the idea of inevitability becoming a solid presence in itself through the lack of human presence.“

 

As a guest in residence at the Windsor Hotel during this period of health crisis, video artist Pia Maria Martin had the idea of using the windows of the deserted rooms of the Windsor Hotel as spaces for film projections.
For more information on the project: <OVNi, ouvre la fenêtre !

 

About the artist : 
Pia Maria Martin ( 1974 in Altdorf at Nuremberg) lives and works in Stuttgart and Nice.
1997-2003 National Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart 
member of the artist and musician collectives « Rock & Bluse » and « Jon Shit ».

Plan de site

Plan de site

Pia Maria Martin

©Pia Maria Martin - 2020
©Pia Maria Martin - 2020

Pia Maria Martin

"Mon objectif est de mettre quelque chose en mouvement et de le laisser suivre son cours. Bien que je profite souvent de placer une situation dans la lumière la plus appropriée. J'essaie d'éviter de perdre le contact avec la réalité. Mon style personnel est simplement le résultat de ce que je fais. Utiliser le film médium comme instrument pour inculquer la vie aux sujets, illustre l'état d'esprit et ses mouvements. Je comprends les possibilités de ce médium comme la substance même de la matière.  

C'est comme si l'humanité avait mis en place la situation puis s'était retirée pour la laisser se dérouler selon ses propres dispositifs laissant arriver l'inévitable, un peu comme les fées dansant dans le jardin. Cela peut se produire dans plusieurs directions, parfois selon les désirs humains, revitalisant la décomposition de la nature, revitalisant les morts ou transmettant la peur. Dans un sens, ils sont comme des pièces de théâtre en une seule scène qui vivent leur processus imparable, l'idée de l'inévitabilité devenant une présence solide en soi par le manque de présence humaine.“

 

Invitée en résidence à l’hôtel Windsor dans cette période de crise sanitaire, l’artiste vidéaste Pia Maria Martin a eu l’idée d’utiliser les fenêtres des chambres désertes de l’hôtel Windsor comme espaces de projections cinématographiques.

Pour plus d'infos sur le projet :  <OVNi, ouvre la fenêtre !

 

 

À propos de l'artiste : 

Pia Maria Martin ( 1974 à Altdorf chez Nuremberg) vie et travaille à Stuttgart et Nice

1997-2003 Académie Nationale des Beaux Arts de Stuttgart 

membre des collectifs d'artistes et musiciens "Rock & Bluse" et "Jon Shit".